Wednesday, 28 October 2009

Comus - First Utterance (U.k. 1971)

Comus formed in England, taking their name from both a Greek God and respective John Milton piece.
They released their debut LP "First Utterance" in 1971 on Dawn records and it failed to do well due to a postal strike that held up distribution.
It's a mix of progressive rock, folk, psychedelia, and elements of paganism and the macabre. A british folk band that wanted to take the mysterious tales of rape, lunacy, gorefests, and killing all rolled up into one.
It's a great LP !!!!!!
They split right after this LP only to regroup in 1974 for 2nd LP "To Keep from Crying". The line up was expanded to include Gong sax blaster Didier Malherbe among others.

Track listing

  1. "Diana" - 4:37
  2. "The Herald" - 12:15
  3. "Drip Drip" - 10:56
  4. "Song to Comus" - 7:31
  5. "The Bite" - 5:27
  6. "Bitten" - 2:16
  7. "The Prisoner" - 6:15

04. "Song to Comus"

No comments:

Post a Comment