Wednesday, 28 October 2009

Electric Sandwich - Selftitled (German 1973)

Electric Sandwich were formed in late 1969,a jazz rock/fusion band from the city of Bonn,
who released their only, self-titled album in 1973.

They went into the Dieter Dirks-Studio in Stommeln to record their debut album, which was released in early 1973,
comprising seven songs somewhere between jazz, blues, rock and psychedelic rock.
Electric Sandwich's only album had a most outstanding opening track, the 8 minute instrumental "China",
with a repetitive, percussive rhythm and fuzzy wah-wah guitar. Other tracks had
an impressive electronically treated sax style reminiscent of Ian Underwood.

Track Listings
01. China
02. Devil's Dream
03. Nervous Creek
04. It's No Use to Run
05. I Want You
06. Archie's Blues
07. Material Darkness
08. On My Mind
09. China [Single Version]

Enjoy ! ! !

05. I Want You

Comus - First Utterance (U.k. 1971)

Comus formed in England, taking their name from both a Greek God and respective John Milton piece.
They released their debut LP "First Utterance" in 1971 on Dawn records and it failed to do well due to a postal strike that held up distribution.
It's a mix of progressive rock, folk, psychedelia, and elements of paganism and the macabre. A british folk band that wanted to take the mysterious tales of rape, lunacy, gorefests, and killing all rolled up into one.
It's a great LP !!!!!!
They split right after this LP only to regroup in 1974 for 2nd LP "To Keep from Crying". The line up was expanded to include Gong sax blaster Didier Malherbe among others.

Track listing

  1. "Diana" - 4:37
  2. "The Herald" - 12:15
  3. "Drip Drip" - 10:56
  4. "Song to Comus" - 7:31
  5. "The Bite" - 5:27
  6. "Bitten" - 2:16
  7. "The Prisoner" - 6:15

04. "Song to Comus"